## The Ninth Annual Wellington Regional Japanese Speech Competition in 2018

The ninth annual Wellington regional Japanese Speech Competition was held on Friday, 29 June 2018 at Taraika Marae at Wellington High School. The competition was organised by the Wellington Association of Japanese Language Teachers with the support of the Japan Foundation.

31 contestants from eight secondary schools took part, and the total audience including teachers, was about 60 people. Students spoke on a variety of topics, including "Japanese Tea Ceremony", "My School Life", and "Welcome to Wellington".

Miss Emma Power (Queen Margaret College) was awarded to the Ambassador's prize.

## Congratulations to all of the participants!



Ambassador's prize winner Miss Emma Power Chow (Queen Margaret College), Director, Japan Information & Cultural Centre, Embassy of Japan Mr Kiyohiko Hamada.



Year 10 category winners:

1st – Lisa Dao (Hutt Valley High School) (left)

2nd - Rachel Vass (Queen Margaret College) (3rd from left)

3rd – Sonia Gounder (Wainuiomata High School) (2nd from left)

HC – Elena Grasso (St Mary's College) (4th from right)

(\*HC= Highly Commended)



Year 11 category winners:

1st –Imali De Silva (Hut Valley High School) (3rd from right)

2nd – Victoria Ryan (Queen Margaret College) (3rd from left)

3rd – Valerie Villanueva (St Mary's College) (4th from left)

HC—Gina Dao-McLay (St Mary's College) (2nd from left)



Year 12 category winners:

1st – Emma Power (Queen Margaret College) (3rd from left)

2nd – Maxin Cabug (Upper Hutt College) (centre)

3rd – Eden Woodrow (Queen Margaret College) (2nd from left)

HC -Nicholas Stephens (Wellington College) (left)



Year 13 category winners:

1st – Rebecca Voong (Hutt Valley High School) (centre)

2nd – Thomas Kilroy (Wellington College) (2nd from left)



Heritage Students category winner: 1st – Emily Quility (Upper Hutt College) (centre) 2nd – Selena Duncan (Wainuiomata High School) (2nd from left)



All participants and audience



Judges: Ms Howat (left) & Dr Scott (right) (Te Kura-The Correspondence School)



Judges: Dr Mikami (left) (National Language Advisor) & Ms Walker (right) (Te Kura-The Correspondence School)